He’s back!! Oldest nerd alive! Vol. 2

 Well guys, we can’t keep him locked up all the time. So here he is again! Everyone’s favorite old man, Uncle Excelsior.

image

Ok, all you ‘new school haters’ out there.  I’m back!

 

That’s right, this is Uncle Excelsior with another rant cause I just can’t stay off the internet and it just makes me mad as fire what some of these motion picture people try and do to the heroes we know and love!  Now, I got a lot on my mind right now, but I’m gonna start with something that caught my eye and rips me a new one every time I read it!  Black Superheroes!

 

Now, I know you can’t see me, but, if you could, you’d see that I’m the whitest old nerd you’ve ever seen.  But I don’t want you to misunderstand me.  Cause I’m not a bit racist.  Momma Excelsior taught me a long time ago to respect people for who they were and not the color of their skin.  That being said, let me explain my beef with how the movie companies want to bring Black Superheroes to the big screen.

 

It happened first with the Kingpin in Daredevil.  Yeah, I brought THAT movie back up.  They felt the need to make Wilson Fisk black and spit in the face of continuity and the fanboys everywhere!  Of course, that wasn’t all that was wrong with THAT movie, but we won’t go into that here.

 

Then, they pulled Samuel L. Jackson out to play Nick Fury.  Now, besides the fact that is was freakin’ Samuel L ‘must be in every cool fanboy movie made’ Jackson, I understand the fact that they were going with the ULTIMATE MARVEL Nick Fury and not our beloved original version.  Now, since I LOVE Samuel L. Jackson, I gave them a pass on this one.  Let’s not get into the fact that I absolutely HATE the very idea of the whole ULTIMATE line seeing as it is a rehash so they don’t have to come up with new stories; just rework someone’s great ideas!  No, I chose to forgive them that due to the greatness of Jackson.

 

BUT when I heard they were considering casting a black actor to play Johnny Storm….What the HELL?  Not only is that flippin’ off continuity, it’s damned near the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard!  The Fantastic Four are one of the most beloved families in all of comicdom and YET they don’t seem to cut a break when it comes to the movies!  First we have the original debacle from 1994 that never saw the light of day.  And then we have two really good attempts at selling the family motif which unfortunately debuted a gamma radiation mutated Dr. Doom that even Stan Lee was angry about.

 

NOW, this….

 

If you make Johnny Storm black, does that mean that Sue will be black too considering she’s his sister?  And how about Reed?  Will it be an interracial marriage?  Not that I have ANYTHING against that.  I just feel that THEY NEED TO LEAVE THE FF THE FREAK ALONE!!

 

And here’s what really burns me about all of this.  You want black superheroes?  Well, hey, geniuses of Hollywood, how about culling from the virtual endless library of great black superheroes who are actually already been in print for decades and , here’s a shocker, have a fan base that is BEGGING for a movie!  Heroes like LUKE CAGE or BLACK PANTHER!  Marvel pioneered multiracial comics in the seventies with titles like these two.  Luckily, there is talk about a Netflix exclusive tv show starring SWEET CHRISTMAS, Luke Cage!  And Black Panther has been on the back burner movie wise for a while and looks to be taking a back seat, once again, to the likes of Dr. Strange.

 

But it doesn’t end there.  How about ICON?  That Milestone comics ethnic answer to Superman?  Or better yet, the beloved STATIC SHOCK?  Are you kidding?  Do they KNOW how many kids watched that show back in the 90s and are now grown up and a vital part of their market?  I mean, the list goes on and on.  Hecks, I’d even be on board for a DC BLACK LIGHTNING movie!

 

Luckily enough, we’ve had great movies featuring some of the great Ethnic heroes like BLADE and STORM of the Xmen.  And the future is a bit bright with LUKE CAGE coming and spatterings of possible roles like Captain America’s FALCON or DC’s CYBORG (mostly rumors right now).  And don’t forget the casting of Denzel Washington as Green Lantern for the reboot and us actually getting to see BISHOP in Days of Future Past?  So, the movie companies have begun to get the idea.  Just one thing….

 

Let’s let the white superheroes be white and the black superheroes be black shall we?  I’m done…gonna go watch the BLADE trilogy and hope for a movie starring maybe a hot Misty Knight or a STORM solo pic (maybe not with Halle Barry and with that cool mohawk, right?)…Hey, one can dream, right?

2 responses to “He’s back!! Oldest nerd alive! Vol. 2

  1. The problem is historical and stems from previous generations of racism where they are not nearly as many minority heroes as white one bearing no real world logic based on world totals or totals in America even with the best estimate only 70 percent of headline heroes should be white onlt 70 percent of tv movies should be all white casts can you see the issue so while I too hate when things lose continuity I would love to see an Asian nightwing or native American wolverine their races don’t seem to play a big part just make the changes as need to make the characters fit their personalities. the best solution would be a ton of all new heroes but they wouldn’t do nearly as well

    • While we do see your point ( and it’s a very true point) I don’t see the need to change ones so deep in the history of comics. There are numerous amazing African American super heros ( Luke cage, black panther, etc) and lots of other races are a little rarer but they are out there and people are dying to see them. There are times that the change doesn’t bother us that much. To change Johnny though means changing the dynamic between the group if sue and Johnny are not siblings. We appreciate the response! Make sure to keep checking in! Hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

