We talk Power Rangers with Jason David Frank

jdf3

This week we were given the chance to sit and talk with one, if not the, most popular Power Ranger of all time, Jason David Frank. Just to give you a little back ground, if you didn’t know, Jason was Tommy, the green ranger, on the original series. He has since done many different appearances on the show. So when we got the chance to sit and talk with him, the Rangers were a first stop when it came to questions.

The rumors of a reboot have been going around and gaining some steam over the past month or so. Once we asked the question he smiled big and told us ” The new movie will be filmed in 2015, it’s not written yet. I’ve talked with Saban but it’s just not written yet.” This put a big smile across my face! I was glad to hear it confirmed but is this just a reboot or a continuation of the series?  Here’s what he had to say on that: “They don’t want me to call it a reboot. It’s a re-envisioning of the Mighty Morphing Power Rangers.”  He added ” I’m sure I’ll be involved, and I’m down for that and down for the brand.” 

When the chance of a Green Ranger series was brought up he told us simply ” I tried working on the Green Ranger series, and that’s not completely out, but with the Lionsgate reboot, they don’t want anything to out shine that.”

It was great to see him still so in love with the character that brought him into fame and the lime light when he was only 18 years old. The show holds a special place with a lot of people and he seemed to understand that. He talked numerous times about his fans and how much he loved getting to be with them at the comic cons and doing interviews like this one.

Speaking of fan projects, we asked about his involvement with Bat in the Sun and the awesome videos that they are doing o1920439_10152506416466687_323403750991386589_nver on YouTube.

” You know, it’s funny man. I tell this story to everyone. They ask how do I know if these interviews are real or not and I just say, you don’t care. You treat every interview equal. It doesn’t matter if they have one fan on a podcast or you got 5 million fans, if you treat them equal you’ll make a hit. So with Aaron [from Bat in the Sun] he called and and said how would you like to do this, and I just said yeah, yeah, I’ll help you out. He loves the white ranger so i’ll help him out. I had never seen his work yet and I agreed to help him. I’m a man of my word so he said go check out my work and I told him I would. So I looked it up and saw like 5 million views on Youtube, on Predator vs Wolverine and I love Wolverine so, but I thought his work was phenomenal. And it just happens to be that now he is the executive producer on my reality show, my mighty morphin life, without him and his dad I couldn’t produce the show. I think that God just puts the right people in your life and sometimes it’s great when you meet people to not ask what can you do for me, but just meet them as a person.”

 

New suit from the upcoming Bat in the Sun video

New suit from the upcoming Bat in the Sun video

We talked a little with him about the new episode of the Super Power Beat Down on Bat in the Sun. ” We just got done filming with Saban on the Green Ranger vs Ryu beat down.  Which we got Sabans approval, which is a big thing cause there is a lot of underground stuff that’s being made. It was a big deal.” I am personally excited to see how this one comes out and make sure to check out Bat in the Sun here on Youtube! You can also check out the trailer to his new web series on their channel has well!

Well guys, that wraps up our talk with Jason David Frank. The main things to take from this it that the Power Rangers movie is coming,  JDF will likely be involved in it, and even if not he is working close with Saban and doing more Ranger centered things! It was awesome to meet such a down to earth and all around great guy! Make sure to watch out for all of his new projects coming. You can find most of it at the links below! Till next time guys.

Follow JDF on Facebook!

Bat in the Sun can be found here!

We can be found here on Facebook!

 

Leave a Reply

