Talking steampunk with the lovely Anastasia Dragunov

Two of the genres that has always interested me is steampunk and dessertpunk. They have always been fascinating. Some people’s ability to bring this to life is just amazing. That is defiantly true when it comes to Anastasia! The costumes that she puts together look as though they are ripped straight out of the genre itself.

We got the chance to sit down and talk with her about her love of steampunk and some of her other hobbies. Take a look and make sure to enjoy the gallery below and follow the link at run end to find more and follow her on her Facebook! Enjoy!

1. What started your love of the steampunk genre?

My love of science-fiction and period films/books first brought me to the idea of Steampunk. I would see hints of it here or there, but it became truly prevalent in my life after the Robert Downey Jr. Sherlock Holmes movie came out. I’ve always loved the fashion of the Victorian Era and ultimately it was a combination of the above which really drove me into the steampunk genre.

2. What has been your favorite convention that you have attended?

My favorite convention…. That’s a hard one actually. I think I would have to say its a toss up between Comicpalooza in Houston and Realms Con in Corpus Christi. At both I was able to meet some pretty amazing people I’ve looked up to in films, music, tv, as well as cosplay.

3. Are you into gaming at all? If so, what is your favorite game?

I am a huge gamer actually. My favorite game is by far Dragon Age Origins. In second place of that I would have to say Skyrim though.

4. Besides making costumes and modeling, what hobbies do you have?

Costuming and modeling take up a hug portion of my time, but when I’m not doing either of those I’m usually gaming (haha). I actually went to university for Physics so stargazing is definitely something I love to do in the cooler months. I do also love camping and I’m big into organic lifestyles. So, I do garden and work on my herbology skills.

5. How do you plan to end this year? Any big plans for the upcoming year?

As of right now my end of the year plans are still undecided. I have one more convention planned as well as appearing in the December issue of the Ladies of Steampunk magazine. However, next year is looking to be pretty awesome. I have conventions I will be guesting at, photo shoots planned, some international jobs in the works, and some amazing costumes I’m really looking forward to working on and releasing. Keep an eye out for me in future issues of the Ladies of Steampunk magazine next year as well.

image

image

image

Make sure to check out her Facebook here!

Leave a Reply

