Let’s have a conversation about Benedict Cumberbatch and Doctor Strange.

ICYMI, Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock, Star Trek Into Darkness, and the Hobbit) was
cast as Marvel’s ‘Sorcerer Supreme’ in the upcoming solo movie. While this has made most of
his fans jump up and down for joy I just want to explain why I think this wasn’t the best option.

I want to start by saying I do love him as Sherlock, and I didn’t hate him as Khan. But I don’t
feel like he can pull off Dr. Strange. Not to say he can’t, but neither role prepares him for this
particular character, and I fear that he will end up playing it too much like Sherlock. Which
frankly is a disservice to a wonderful character.

But more importantly, I feel like he is too well loved by his fans for this kind of role. He is
someone that isn’t going to be seen as the role, but himself. This is already happening, and
again this is a disservice to an amazing character. One of the reason that Marvel has done
well is that they have taken relatively unknown actors that are really good and placed them in
iconic roles, this breaks that mold. I sincerely hope his fans can look past him and at the role,
but already it’s looking like most of them won’t. I guess time will tell.

Again, I am a fan of his to an extent, and I love Doctor Strange, this is simply my viewpoint on
the subject, Mine alone. What do you think? Let us know below and let’s have a conversation. Maybe you can help me see something I am missing. check us out on Facebook by Clicking here.

Leave a Reply

